South Africa,  Hotels

My 8 favorite hotels in Saint Lucia in South Africa

Saint Lucia in South Africa is a charming coastal city full of hippos. Many natural parks surround it such as the iSimangaliso Wetland Park which is part of the protected heritage of UNESCO or the Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve which shelters the last white rhinoceros of the world. It is the best base for exploring the North East coast of South Africa. To take advantage of all the activities the city offers, we recommend that you sleep in one of the establishments below. They are for us the best hotels in St Lucia in South Africa.

Little Eden: the best value for money to sleep in Saint Lucia in South Africa

Little Eden: the best value for money hotel to sleep in Saint Lucia in South Africa
Little Eden: the best value for money hotel to sleep in Saint Lucia in South Africa
Little Eden: the best value for money hotel to sleep in Saint Lucia in South Africa
Little Eden: the best value for money hotel to sleep in Saint Lucia in South Africa

Most of the accommodation in Saint Lucia, South Africa is bed and breakfast. The few hotels in town are well below B & B quality and we don't recommend them. Of all establishments, the best value for money that we found is the B&B Little eden. Its prices are very affordable, it is in a great location and the view of the bay from the top of the hill is just magnificent. In addition, the rooms are well appointed, the staff very friendly and the pool pleasant. We loved it and for us Little Eden is the best budget accommodation in St Lucia.

Check availability

For further: Discover the accommodations with the best value for money in South Africa

Staying in St Lucia in South Africa in quality Guest Houses

If Little Eden is full, we recommend three other B & Bs in St Lucia South Africa of the same standard but slightly more expensive. The three are equal: they are all comfortable, well-kept and clean. We have never had a bad return.

1. Avalone Guest House

Avalone guest house hotel: the best b & b and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa
Avalone guest house hotel: the best b & b and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa
Avalone guest house hotel: the best b & b and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa
Avalone guest house hotel: the best b & b and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa

Book in advance Avalone Guest House :

Check availability

2.iGwalagwala Guest House

IGwalagwala Guest House Hotel: St Lucia's best B&B and guesthouse in South Africa
IGwalagwala Guest House Hotel: St Lucia's best B&B and guesthouse in South Africa
IGwalagwala Guest House Hotel: St Lucia's best B&B and guesthouse in South Africa
IGwalagwala Guest House Hotel: St Lucia's best B&B and guesthouse in South Africa

Book in advance iGwalagwala Guest House :

Check availability

3. Bhangazi Lodge

Hotel Bhangazi Lodge: the best B&B and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa
Hotel Bhangazi Lodge: the best B&B and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa
Hotel Bhangazi Lodge: the best B&B and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa
Hotel Bhangazi Lodge: the best B&B and guesthouse in St Lucia, South Africa

Book in advance Bhangazi Lodge :

Check availability

For further : Discover the best guesthouses and B & Bs for accommodation in South Africa

Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: St Lucia's best hostel in South Africa

Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: the best hostel in St Lucia in South Africa
Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: the best hostel in St Lucia in South Africa
Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: the best hostel in St Lucia in South Africa

For youth hostel lovers, the only one that is interesting in St Lucia is Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping. The atmosphere is very nice and it is well located. There are quite a few restaurants around and the fresh fruit market is across the street. Evenings around the pool and barbecue are popular and you will easily meet other travelers. We will add that the dormitories are clean and well kept. All this at a low price.

Check availability

For further : Discover the best hostels to stay in South Africa

Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: sleep under a luxury safari tent in St Lucia

Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: the best luxury safari tent hotel in St Lucia in South Africa
Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: the best luxury safari tent hotel in St Lucia in South Africa
Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping: the best luxury safari tent hotel in St Lucia in South Africa

For lovers of Africa, Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping offers you the opportunity to sleep in a luxury safari tent. Nothing to do with French camping! In Saint Lucia, the Quechua tent has been replaced by a superb room on stilts.

The plus: the pool is very pleasant.

Check availability

For further : Discover the best atypical hotels for accommodation in South Africa

Thonga Beach Lodge: the best hotel in Saint Lucia, South Africa

Thonga Beach Lodge: the best hotel in St Lucia in South Africa located inside iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Thonga Beach Lodge: the best hotel in St Lucia in South Africa located inside iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Thonga Beach Lodge: the best hotel in St Lucia in South Africa located inside iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Thonga Beach Lodge: the best hotel in St Lucia in South Africa located inside iSimangaliso Wetland Park

Thonga Beach Lodge has the privilege of being located inside iSimangaliso Wetland Park, a UNESCO World Heritage Site and main attraction of St Lucia (this privilege comes at a rather steep price but all meals are included). The place is quiet and isolated in nature. To get there, the only option is to take the hotel's 4 × 4 which picks you up and takes you to the heart of the national park along a superb sandy track next to the huge beach. Once you arrive, you discover a corner of paradise cut off from the modern world. This is the only hotel we recommend in the area as it is on a whole new level compared to other accommodations. He is the best hotel in Saint Lucia but it is also part of the top accommodation in South Africa. These luxury cabins are extremely romantic. Perched in the trees, they all have a terrace with a magnificent view of the ocean from where you can observe whales. We would like to live there… In addition, their very wild and always deserted private beach is accessible in 30 seconds and you can snorkel there to admire the seabed filled with fish. The lucky ones will even see a turtle laying these eggs in the white sand. Here, it is not so rare! If you're a scuba diver, the lodge offers sea trips to Sodwana Bay, South Africa's best diving spot. It also offers many activities such as kayaking or 4 × 4 in the park. When you come back in the evening, don't miss out on a massage. They are just amazing! Last tip: book quickly because there are only 12 rooms…

Most : if you are on a honeymoon or if you want to spend a romantic night, we recommend that you book one of their rooms with private pool and outdoor shower. The dream…

Check availability

For further : Discover the best dream hotels for accommodation in South Africa

Thanda Safari Lodge: go on a safari in Hluhluwe-Umfolozi in the best private reserve

Thanda Safari Lodge hotel: the best private reserve in Hluhluwe-Umfolozi
Thanda Safari Lodge hotel: the best private reserve in Hluhluwe-Umfolozi
Thanda Safari Lodge hotel: the best private reserve in Hluhluwe-Umfolozi
Thanda Safari Lodge hotel: the best private reserve in Hluhluwe-Umfolozi

If you chose to do the Kruger without a private reserve (or if you made a private reserve at the Kruger and loved it!), Then why not indulge in a private reserve at Hluhluwe-Umfolozi? We recommend you Thanda Safari Lodge. It's the best of the best (with the price that follows, of course…). The private reserve was even voted Africa's best luxury lodge at the World Travel Awards in 2013. The principle is the same as at the Kruger: the reserve has its own animals which live in total freedom in a large park of 14 hectares. You have a better chance of seeing the Big 000 here than in the national park. This is definitely the only way to see cheetahs unless you are extremely lucky ... Also the rangers are very informative and friendly. The price includes all meals with drinks (very good gastronomy with fine products morning, noon and night!) And two 5-hour jeep safaris (at dawn and late afternoon) with aperitif in the bush ! In the hottest of the day, you can lounge in your (huge) villa which has a private swimming pool and a free mini bar… In winter, the fireplace is lit in each villa and board games like Scrabble or Monopoly are available . In the evening you can relax in the spa with a massage or have a drink on the terrace in front of the small pond where many animals come to be satisfied. In short, the dream! After a day full of memories, you can recharge your batteries in your luxury room in the middle of nature and wake up in a magnificent setting with a view of the savannah in the early morning… Just unforgettable.

Check availability

For further : Discover the best hotels to stay on reserves in South Africa

To find out more about South Africa:

Itinéterre is a travel blog written by a team of expatriates and locals. They share their experiences so that you can enjoy the best tours in their countries. Their advice will help you plan your vacation easily as if a local is accompanying you!

Afrique du Sud,  Hôtels

Mes 8 hôtels préférés à Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud

Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud est une charmante ville côtière remplie d’hippopotames. De nombreux parcs naturels l’entourent comme le iSimangaliso Wetland Park qui fait partie du patrimoine protégé de l’UNESCO ou encore le Hluhluwe-Umfolozi Game Reserve qui abrite les derniers rhinocéros blancs du monde. C’est la meilleure base pour explorer la côte Nord Est de l’Afrique du Sud. Pour profiter de toutes les activités qu’offre la ville, nous vous conseillons de dormir dans un des établissements ci-dessous. Ils sont pour nous les meilleurs hôtels de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud.

Little Eden : le meilleur rapport qualité prix pour dormir à Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud

Little Eden : le meilleur hôtel rapport qualité prix pour dormir à Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud
Little Eden : le meilleur hôtel rapport qualité prix pour dormir à Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud
Little Eden : le meilleur hôtel rapport qualité prix pour dormir à Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud
Little Eden : le meilleur hôtel rapport qualité prix pour dormir à Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud

Les hébergements de Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud sont quasiment tous des chambres d’hôtes. Les quelques hôtels de la ville sont largement en dessous de la qualité des B&B et nous ne les recommandons pas. De tous les établissements, le meilleur rapport qualité prix que nous avons trouvé est le B&B Little Eden. Ses prix sont très abordables, il est très bien situé et sa vue sur la baie depuis le haut de la colline est juste magnifique. De plus, les chambres sont bien aménagées, le staff très sympathique et la piscine agréable. Nous avons adoré et pour nous, Little Eden est le meilleur hébergement pas cher de St Lucia.

Voir les disponibilités

Pour aller plus loin: Découvrir les logements avec le meilleur rapport qualité prix d’Afrique du Sud

Se loger à St Lucia en Afrique du Sud dans des Guest Houses de qualités

Si Little Eden est complet, nous vous recommandons trois autres chambres d’hôtes à St Lucia en Afrique du Sud du même niveau de qualité mais légèrement plus cher. Les trois se valent : elles sont toutes confortables, bien tenues et propres. Nous n’avons jamais eu de mauvais retour.

1. Avalone Guest House

Hôtel Avalone Guest House : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel Avalone Guest House : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel Avalone Guest House : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel Avalone Guest House : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud

Réserver en avance Avalone Guest House :

Voir les disponibilités

2. iGwalagwala Guest House

Hôtel iGwalagwala Guest House: le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel iGwalagwala Guest House: le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel iGwalagwala Guest House: le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel iGwalagwala Guest House: le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud

Réserver en avance iGwalagwala Guest House :

Voir les disponibilités

3. Bhangazi Lodge

Hôtel Bhangazi Lodge : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel Bhangazi Lodge : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel Bhangazi Lodge : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Hôtel Bhangazi Lodge : le meilleur B&B et maison d’hôtes de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud

Réserver en avance Bhangazi Lodge :

Voir les disponibilités

Pour aller plus loin : Découvrir les meilleures maisons d’hôtes et B&B pour se loger en Afrique du Sud

Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : la meilleure auberge de jeunesse de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud

Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : la meilleure auberge de jeunesse de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : la meilleure auberge de jeunesse de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : la meilleure auberge de jeunesse de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud

Pour les amateurs d’auberge de jeunesse, la seule qui est intéressante à St Lucia est Budget Tented Village @ Urban Glamping. L’ambiance y est très sympa et elle est bien située. Il y a pas mal de restaurants autour et le marché de fruit frais est dans la rue d’en face. Les soirées autour de la piscine et du barbecue sont populaires et vous rencontrerez facilement d’autres voyageurs. Nous rajouterons que les dortoirs sont propres et bien tenus. Tout cela à petit prix.

Voir les disponibilités

Pour aller plus loin : Découvrir les meilleures auberges de jeunesse pour se loger en Afrique du Sud

Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : dormez sous une tente safari de luxe à St Lucia

Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : le meilleur hôtel sous tente safari de luxe de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : le meilleur hôtel sous tente safari de luxe de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud
Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping : le meilleur hôtel sous tente safari de luxe de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud

Pour les amoureux de l’Afrique, Luxury Tented Village @ Urban Glamping vous offre l’opportunité de dormir sous une tente safari de luxe. Rien à voir avec le camping à la française ! A Sainte Lucie, la tente Quechua a été remplacée par une superbe chambre sur pilotis.

Le plus : la piscine est très agréable.

Voir les disponibilités

Pour aller plus loin : Découvrir les meilleurs hôtels atypiques pour se loger en Afrique du Sud

Thonga Beach Lodge : le meilleur hôtel de Sainte Lucie en Afrique du Sud

Thonga Beach Lodge : le meilleur hôtel de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud situé à l’intérieur d’iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Thonga Beach Lodge : le meilleur hôtel de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud situé à l’intérieur d’iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Thonga Beach Lodge : le meilleur hôtel de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud situé à l’intérieur d’iSimangaliso Wetland Park
Thonga Beach Lodge : le meilleur hôtel de St Lucia en Afrique du Sud situé à l’intérieur d’iSimangaliso Wetland Park

Thonga Beach Lodge a le privilège d’être situé à l’intérieur d’iSimangaliso Wetland Park, un site classé au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO et attraction principale de St Lucia (ce privilège a un prix plutôt élevé mais tous les repas sont inclus). Le lieu est calme et isolé dans la nature. Pour y accéder, la seule option est de prendre le 4×4 de l’hôtel qui vient vous chercher et vous amène au cœur du parc national le long d’une piste de sable superbe à côté de la plage immense. Une fois arrivé, vous découvrez un coin de paradis coupé du monde moderne. C’est le seul hôtel que nous recommandons dans la région car il est d’un tout autre niveau comparé aux autres hébergements. Il est le meilleur hôtel de Sainte Lucie mais il fait aussi partie du top des hébergements d’Afrique du Sud. Ces cabanes de luxe sont extrêmement romantiques. Perchées dans les arbres, elles ont toutes une terrasse avec une vue magnifique sur l’océan d’où vous pouvez observer les baleines. On aimerait y vivre… De plus, leur plage privée très sauvage et toujours déserte est accessible en 30 secondes et on peut y faire du masque/tuba pour admirer les fonds sous-marins remplies de poissons. Les plus chanceux pourront même voir une tortue pondre ces œufs dans le sable blanc. Ici, ce n’est pas si rare ! Si vous faite de la plongée, le lodge offre des sorties en mer jusqu’à Sodwana Bay, le meilleur spot de plongée d’Afrique du Sud. Il propose aussi de nombreuses activités comme du kayak ou du 4×4 dans le parc. En rentrant le soir, ne vous privez pas d’un massage. Ils sont juste incroyables ! Dernier conseil : réservez vite car il n’y a que 12 chambres…

Le plus : si vous êtes en voyage de noce ou si vous voulez passer une nuit romantique, nous vous recommandons de réserver une de leurs chambres avec piscine privée et douche extérieure. Le rêve…

Voir les disponibilités

Pour aller plus loin : Découvrir les meilleurs hôtels de rêve pour se loger en Afrique du Sud

Thanda Safari Lodge: partir faire un safari à Hluhluwe-Umfolozi dans la meilleure réserve privée

Hôtel Thanda Safari Lodge : la meilleure réserve privée à Hluhluwe-Umfolozi
Hôtel Thanda Safari Lodge : la meilleure réserve privée à Hluhluwe-Umfolozi
Hôtel Thanda Safari Lodge : la meilleure réserve privée à Hluhluwe-Umfolozi
Hôtel Thanda Safari Lodge : la meilleure réserve privée à Hluhluwe-Umfolozi

Si vous avez choisi de faire le Kruger sans réserve privée (ou si vous avez fait une réserve privée au Kruger et que vous avez adoré !), alors pourquoi ne pas vous laissez tenter par une réserve privée à Hluhluwe-Umfolozi? Nous vous recommandons Thanda Safari Lodge. C’est le top du top (avec le prix qui suit, évidemment…). La réserve privée a même été élu meilleur lodge de luxe de l’Afrique au World Travel Awards en 2013. Le principe est le même qu’au Kruger : la réserve a ses propres animaux qui vivent en totale liberté dans un grand parc de 14 000 hectares. Vous avez plus de chance de voir les Big 5 ici que dans le parc national. C’est certainement le seul moyen de voir des guépards sauf si vous êtes extrêmement chanceux… De plus, les rangers sont très informatifs et sympa. Le prix inclus tous les repas avec boissons (très bonne gastronomie avec des produits fins matin midi et soir!) et deux safaris de 3h par jour en jeep (au lever du jour et en fin d’après-midi) avec apéro dans la brousse! Au plus chaud de la journée, vous pouvez vous prélasser dans votre villa (immense) qui a une piscine privée et un mini bar gratuit… En hivers, la cheminée est allumée dans chaque villa et des jeux de sociétés comme Scrabble ou Monopoly sont à disposition. Le soir vous pouvez vous relaxer au spa avec un massage ou prendre un verre en terrasse devant le petit étang où de nombreux animaux viennent se rassasier. Bref, le rêve ! Après une journée riche en souvenirs, vous pourrez vous recharger dans votre chambre grand luxe au milieu de la nature et vous réveiller dans un cadre magnifique avec vue sur la savane au petit matin… Juste inoubliable.

Voir les disponibilités

Pour aller plus loin : Découvrir les meilleurs hôtels pour se loger dans les réserves en Afrique du Sud

Pour en savoir plus sur l’Afrique du Sud :

Itinéterre est un blog de voyage écrit par une équipe d'expatriés et de locaux. Ils partagent leurs expériences pour que vous profitiez des meilleurs circuits de leurs pays. Leurs conseils vous aideront à planifier vos vacances facilement comme si un local vous accompagnait!